Can A Bicycle Cure Cancer?

The answer, of course, is absolutely not. But this August, 5,000+ cyclists will once again gather in an attempt to inch closer to an elusive cure. As one of those cyclists, I humbly ask for your support as I raise money for life-saving cancer research and treatment at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.  I will be riding in the Pan-Mass Challenge for the 5th consecutive year – 190 miles to the tip of Cape Cod along with approximately 5,000 other cyclists from across the country and beyond. Each of us will raise over $4,200 a piece on behalf of The Jimmy Fund.

Once again, 100% of your donation will go directly toward cancer research and treatment through The Jimmy Fund. This year I will ride in memory of  Bill, Dave, Elizabeth, Gordon, Irina, Jennifer, John, “Coach” Johnny, Johnny, Noah, Nora and Tyler, and I am riding on behalf of Betty, Carolyn, Don, Jeff, Judy, Julie, Kristin, Lori, Mike, Paul, TJ and Tracy. Please let me know if there are others for whom I may ride.

Logan, Taylor and me at this year’s (very wet) Kids’ PMC, Concord, MA

Training (outdoors) year-round for rides in New England can be a challenge as the temperature and road conditions makes things interesting. In an attempt to get rid of my February legs even earlier this year, I started training for this year’s PMC by completing the annual Harpoon Brewery-to-Brewery (B2B) ride last month – 148 miles in one day, all for free beer. Why ride a few miles to the local store when you can pedal 148 to the actual brewery? This  earlier and heavier training schedule required fighting additional bed suck (when your bed pulls you under and won’t let you get out to train) as well as cashing in on even more bike coupons (certificates implicitly granted by spouses or significant others which permit participation in cycling-related activity).

As has become tradition, Taylor, with an assist from Logan, will randomly draw from a list of all donors for a chance to win $200. You can choose from one of the following, easy methods to donate:

1) Make a donation using eGifts: The following link will take you to my Pan-Mass Challenge Profile (http://www.pmc.org/egifts/HU0001), which tracks progress toward my goal. You can also go to www.pmc.org, click on eGifts and search for me by my ID (HU0001) or name to make a donation.

OR

2) Text to Give to My Ride: Just text “PMC HU0001” to 20222 to donate $10. You will receive a message asking you to confirm by replying “Yes.” It’s that easy!

OR

3) Mail in a payment: Checks can be made payable to the PMC, Jimmy Fund, DFCI, or any combination of the three (please don’t make it out to me). Please send your checks directly to me so that I can process them with the standard forms, etc. If you would prefer to send your check directly to the PMC, however, please include a note indicating you are sponsoring me and send the check to: PMC, 77 4th Avenue, Needham, MA 02494.

With the exception of 2008, both the total and average contribution by donor has risen each year. The total number of donors has remained remarkably steady while the number of repeat donors continues to increase. Let’s keep the trajectory going in the right direction!

Thank you for your continued generosity, and see you on the road!

About healthitjunkie

Over the past 18 years, I've had the pleasure of experiencing healthcare as a provider, administrator, technology vendor and enthusiast. Regardless of one's perspective or position, the challenge and promise of technology to impact healthcare has never been greater or more exciting. Although I'm passionate about healthcare technology, my "real" job is as a husband and father of two who also happens to enjoy cycling as much as possible.

Posted on July 10, 2011, in cancer, cycling, PMC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

